Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
-
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: December 31st, 2011, 7:13 pm
Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
I setup a scheduled Cron Job on Webmin, but I don't think it is running on the hourly schedule. How can I verify whether or not it is running? If it isn't running, how can I make it run?
Thanks
Thanks
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
Hi,
Issue the following command in a Puitty session:
where Username is the name of the user which you've set the cron job up for. For example, if I issue sudo crontab -u deluge -l I see the following output:
The >/dev/null 2>&1 on a cron job suppresses output. So, change the string to something like >>/tmp/hello.txt on the cron job and the output from the job will be sent to a file called hello.txt in the tmp folder.
Hope this helps.
Ian,
Issue the following command in a Puitty session:
Code: Select all
sudo crontab -u Username -l
where Username is the name of the user which you've set the cron job up for. For example, if I issue sudo crontab -u deluge -l I see the following output:
Code: Select all
@hourly /usr/local/bin/flexget >/dev/null 2>&1 #FlexGet
The >/dev/null 2>&1 on a cron job suppresses output. So, change the string to something like >>/tmp/hello.txt on the cron job and the output from the job will be sent to a file called hello.txt in the tmp folder.
Hope this helps.
Ian,
-
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: December 31st, 2011, 7:13 pm
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
Ok, When I issue that command, I get the following:
There doesn't appear to be any additional code after that. Should I add it?
Is that done in Webmin under the "input to command" box? Should I just type it exactly how you have it?
Code: Select all
@hourly /usr/local/bin/flexget
There doesn't appear to be any additional code after that. Should I add it?
Is that done in Webmin under the "input to command" box? Should I just type it exactly how you have it?
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
It looks like flexget is running every hour. If you go into webmin and select the flexget job and then click the "run now" button it should run the job and generate some output to the screen. Is it not doing that?
-
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: December 31st, 2011, 7:13 pm
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
It does that, but I just wanted some sort of confirmation that it is working. Most of the things that I have in flexget are not airing new episodes, so there is no way to know for sure that it is doing what I want it to. Also, when I View Module's Logs in the Webmin, it appears that the only activity on the cron jobs are activities that I created. Does this log only show things that I have done or will it also show when cron runs a job on its' own?
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
Hi SirScot
I had the same issue when I was setting up Flexget, once I'd stop it spitting it's dummy how do you check it's actually working? I added a series I had no interest in but for which I knew their were episodes available in my chosen the repository. Wait an hour then check deluge you should have new episodes queued for download. If you have set up your email then you'll receive one saying what is being downloaded.
I had the same issue when I was setting up Flexget, once I'd stop it spitting it's dummy how do you check it's actually working? I added a series I had no interest in but for which I knew their were episodes available in my chosen the repository. Wait an hour then check deluge you should have new episodes queued for download. If you have set up your email then you'll receive one saying what is being downloaded.
-
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: December 31st, 2011, 7:13 pm
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
DunkB,
Thanks for the confirmation. I guess I just have to trust that it is doing what it is supposed to be doing. I would just feel more comfortable if I could check and see that it is running on the hour and that I have it configured correctly. I think I'll try adding a series that airs either today or tomorrow.
Thanks for the confirmation. I guess I just have to trust that it is doing what it is supposed to be doing. I would just feel more comfortable if I could check and see that it is running on the hour and that I have it configured correctly. I think I'll try adding a series that airs either today or tomorrow.
-
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: December 31st, 2011, 7:13 pm
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
With Flexget, do the jobs have to be run under the user deluge? Should it be under root? I have the cron job setup and it shows when I run the command. But when I just leave it alone and wait for the job to run, nothing appears to happen. I tried adding the >>/tmp/hello.txt to the job and it doesn't create that file. Any ideas?
Code: Select all
sudo crontab -u Username -l
-
- Member
- Posts: 11
- Joined: December 31st, 2011, 7:13 pm
Re: Cron doesn't appear to be running Flexget
SirScott13 wrote:With Flexget, do the jobs have to be run under the user deluge? Should it be under root? I have the cron job setup and it shows when I run thecommand. But when I just leave it alone and wait for the job to run, nothing appears to happen. I tried adding the >>/tmp/hello.txt to the job and it doesn't create that file. Any ideas?Code: Select all
sudo crontab -u Username -l
Ok, I've added the following modifier to the command
Code: Select all
--logfile=/tmp/hello.txt
After saving and running the cron job, I get the file created. Now I'm planning on waiting to see if it actually runs on it's own. I've deleted the file, so if it reappears, I will know that the cron job is running. If it doesn't upload, I'll let you know and maybe you can help me then.